Film Review: The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

Sigh.

Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

I know I’m a bit late for almost everything, esp popular culture products. And I’m not the kind of person who is easily swept away by trends and popular excitement; but here I am, committing myself to write some pieces of my thoughts about The Dark Knight Rises (TDKR).

I watched it this afternoon with some friends, and I. Love. It. I love it more than I should, as matter of fact. Before going to a somewhat thorough reviews, let me reminisce the previous sequel, The Dark Knight (2008). To be honest I just watched The Dark Knight (2008) a week ago, because I couldn’t stop thinking why this film got high rate on rottentomatoes and some people regard it as a great, yet dark and mysterious film. Since I watched in on my laptop, it took me more than its normal viewing duration (2.5 hours) to finish the film. Hell, it took me 5 hours-ish. In my honest opinion, it was exhausting to watch The Dark Knight (2008). Because yes, it’s dark, and it brings criminality and superhero story to the next level. The Joker (played by beloved Heath Ledger), as Gotham City’s craziest villain, tried to prove that there was no such thing as humanity. He tried changing the city’s future hero, Harvey Dent, to be as vengeful as him. This is shown when Joker used Gotham as his playground, by killing innocent people and some important figures as if they were just toys. And Batman, was never be the main target. Joker did not intend to kill Batman, cause Batman was his playmate. So much for the philosophy of Gotham’s great criminal. In my opinion the Dark Knight (2008) was great, but it’s not my taste. Too gloom and too philosophical, if I may say, for myself.

I’d like to warn you, that the next paragraphs will contain spoilers. So if you hate spoilers and yo haven’t watched TDKR, you can stop here and save your time.

I only go to theaters to watch action films. I rarely watch drama cause I tend to cry a lot, and it’s not so pretty to cry a lot in theaters. TDKR (2012) is action-fantasy film but I found myself crying during some scenes. Mostly, when Alfred told Wayne how he loved Wayne and tried to save him as best as he could. Plus, some scenes where Blake (Joseph-Gordon Levitt), showed his pure kindness in saving people, even though he’s being called as a “hot head”. I cried a lot, swore a lot, screamed a lot cause I’m expressive like that. And thank God, my friends didn’t care much of what I did cause I’m sure they felt it too. To say that watching this film is not exhausting is a lie. Cause it was exhausting as well, but in a good way. It combines action and drama in equal portion so I don’t mind at all. You’ll find yourself live the story and feel the emotions. In some moments I felt like watching Lord of The Rings, esp during the final scenes where the good met the evil and collided. It reminds me to the battle of Rohan.

Christopher Nolan did a great job in giving a birth to this film. He did not give easy way out for the problems exist in the film, like when the plot went down suddenly there were Robin, Batgirl, etc. No. Nolan did not let his film’s viewers to sit back and relax. The film begins with a chilling idea that Gotham mourned the death of Harvey Dent, and there was some bad guys plus Bane, dealing with a nuclear-physicist. For me it wasn’t much of a thrill. Bit by bit the film introduced me with some characters. Then, the plot developed. It wasn’t just for a stolen pearl necklace (stolen by Anne Hathaway the Cat Woman), but more of the idea where it began, why it was done. Why Wayne’s fingerprint was so important etc. (you find it yourself). The story gets me, as it gets interesting minute by minute.

Now from characterisations. Hm. I don’t have much criticism anyway, since the film blows me away. I love how each character supports the flow of the story well and how those people are build their own story. That anyone can be hero for the people around them. Nolan did not put Wayne alone as the center of the attention, or Bane as the ultimate vigilante here. He put every character in their best places. Everyone is vital. Everyone is important. Everyone is just as worthy as the others.

If you know me very well, I am crazy about Joseph-Gordon Levitt’s precious face. He’s like, a drama king with serious face. I love, how Nolan did not simply put him as Batman’s assistant, to save time. He did not just “Hi, you’re good and you have a kind heart, be a Robin to my Batman *and BAM!*” Thank God, no. Blake, portrayed by JGL did a great job on what’s best for him: saving people by just being a commoner. Sorry for starting the character reviw from JGL, though. I love him. And by the way, I’m not going to have a thorough discussion of character review here. Just a highlight of some impressive scenes and thoughts about the main characters.
Christian Bale is awesome. Rocking those sexy lips, deep voice, and great act, as usual. He really portrayed the rise of a hero from his deep sleep. Slaughtered and humiliated by Bane, he was thrown away to the place where Bane was raised. I personally learned a lot lessons from this film. I don’t know if I’m being bought by great actors, but there are some morals of this story, if we look close enough. I love the scene where Wayne did a jump in the hell-ish Caribbean prison. It was heartbreaking, heart throbbing *again, I cried here*. It shows me how fear is natural. Fear will show you what to do. Again I’m not a much poet to describe how fear is supposed to nurture someone or a character, but by being frightened enough to certain things, we force ourselves to defend our existence. It’s not about how we physically endure the pain life has offered, but more on how we mentally react to suppress the fear and turn it into power.

Anne Hathaway, surprisingly did a wonderful job as Cat Woman. Honestly when I heard the name “Anne Hathaway”, I didn’t think she could play as a mysterious, sexy, double-sided character like Cat Woman. She proved me wrong. She did great. I need to add how witty and un-sloppy she played there. So good. Hands down, Anne Hathaway.
And people, MUST, appreciate Marion Cotillard’s appearance in the film. Adding her in TDKR team betters the story even more. Seriously though, who would not fall for that sexy, deep, mysterious look? And please notice how slick she could be! So good. I always love her.
And of course I love Tom Hardy, Gary Oldman, Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman too. They are awesome. It’s just impossible for me to write thorough reviews of their characters. This post might turn to be a paper if I force myself to write things thoroughly.

Everything is great in the film. Everything is planned, supported by each of the element existing in it. I give 4.5 stars of 5 stars for this film, cause I love it.

Seriously, you must watch this film in theater.

One Response to “Film Review: The Dark Knight Rises (2012)”

  1. Rena Herald Says:

    very very very nice review!
    actually i knew what happened with you when you were watching this movie, lol. you cried and screamed and i heard it.
    you were right, TDKR has impressed lots of viewers with both its effect and stories. i feel like both script writer and director give their best job in building strong correlation between those two elements. and yeah, JGL acts really professionally with his innocent and unpredictable role. i love when Nolan choose him to play in this movie. for me he’s the right figure for replacing heath ;_;
    overall it’s soooo american: epic, revealing but remaining the hidden conception about who’s the true winner and the rightest side. lol

Leave a Reply

