Book Review: Haruki Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore

Haruki Murakami – Kafka on the Shore

.

I’m not promising to describe my feelings and analysis upon this work in such a great detail, cause I read this book in between trips, when I got bored waiting for certain queues, whenever I felt like reading the book. I might forget some important details, therefore I’m sorry for not being able to give a good review.

Kafka on the Shore is my third Murakami book. Sputnik Sweetheart was the first Murakami’s book that I read and I quite enjoyed it, even though I didn’t really like how it ends. It’s hanging me, left me in questions. Norwegian Wood, is by far, one of the best books I’ve read. The story touches me and it leaves such an impression and hard to forget.

I give 3 of 5 stars to this book because of these 2 points:

1). The plot is too slow.
I love how Murakami describes things and people’s feelings, alright. He is great with words. But I think the sequences of events happened in this book are happened too slow. Let’s say the slow plot and events happened in the book happened for a reason, BUT Murakami didn’t explain really well the connections of some events happened there. Like, in first chapters he explained about a young boy (Nakata) who fell unconscious in a forest and after the event he could not function himself well. He took many pages to explain Nakata’s life but in the end he left me in question when Nakata suddenly died (I cried at that part because of Hoshino’s deep feelings to Nakata lol). I even still question what actually happened in the forest, in the beginning of the story. Who Nakata actually is and what is his role in connecting Miss Saeki and Kafka? Who is Kafka? Miss Saeki’s reincarnated-past lover? Miss Saeki’s son? Who is Kafka’s father and what’s his connection to Miss Saeki? I kind of wished Murakami had explained these connections and explained my questions in the end of the book, but no.

2). I just…don’t know how to respond/review some bizarre events happened in the book. Maybe I’m not that imaginative/creative/etc but if some unusual events happened there were metaphors or symbolism, kindly explain it?

* Some people claim the book has (erghhh, idk how to define what “delicate literotica”, sorry) some uncensored scenes, involving a 15 year-old boy who made love to his (suspected) mother. Well, I personally don’t really mind about it. But somehow it disturbs me a little when I had to picture the scenes.

I think that’s all my so-called review of Murakami’s Kafka on the SHore. I promise I will try my best to write more proper book review.

Next, I’ll be reading Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina.

One Response to “Book Review: Haruki Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore”

  1. erdeaka Says:

    yeah, finally you made a review about this, LOL

Leave a Reply

